Scroll Down To Continue

23 Foods We Had No Idea Were Vegan

Oreos

We never said that vegan meant healthy! Turns out the “creme” in Oreos is not made out of cream at all. What gives the Oreos their creamy texture are the different oils and sugars they use to make it tasty. Now, if you are a hard core vegan, you might want to steer clear of Oreos because they are processed in a facility that also has dairy products. So, they are not the purest vegan cookies you can find, but they are definitely vegan!

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Pillsbury Crescent Rolls

Yep! What you think is butter on these rolls isn’t actually butter; it's a mix of oils and salt that creates its buttery flavor and flaky layers. There are so many fun vegan recipes you could use with these!

(Image via Walmart)
ADVERTISEMENT

Unfrosted Pop Tarts

While the frosting of Pop Tarts does contain some dairy, Unfrosted Cinnamon, Unfrosted Brown Sugar Cinnamon, Unfrosted Blueberry, and Unfrosted Strawberry are all vegan friendly.

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Jell-O Instant Pudding Mix

The pudding mix does call for cow’s milk, but substituting it for your favorite milk alternative will give you the same creamy Jell-O Pudding that is completely vegan! Vanilla, Banana Cream, Pistachio, and Lemon are all vegan, but be sure to double check the ingredients list!

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Ritz Crackers

Another buttery deception! Ritz Crackers do not contain any real butter, just plenty of buttery substitute goodness.

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars

Most of the Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars are 100% vegan. If you choose to avoid honey as well, just watch out for the Oats ‘n Honey flavor because it does contain real honey.

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Wheat Thins

No animal products here! Wheat Thins, just like a lot of other traditional store bought crackers, are vegan. They pair perfectly with some vegan hummus for a yummy afternoon snack.

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Chocolate Chip Teddy Grahams

The Honey Teddy Grahams flavor is not vegan for obvious reasons, but the Chocolate Chip flavor is vegan friendly. Nothing like snacking on Teddy Grahams for a good dose of childhood nostalgia!

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Taco Bell's Bean Burrito

If you ever find yourself at Taco Bell, don’t worry! Order the Bean Burrito, and be sure to ask for no cheese. Their beans are not made with any animal products.

(Image via Facebook)
ADVERTISEMENT

Cracker Jacks

Original Cracker Jacks are vegan because they don’t use any animal products in their caramel recipe. Be careful around other brands of caramel corn, though, because this is not an industry standard. Always read the labels and ingredients lists!

(Image via Walmart)
ADVERTISEMENT

Lindt Excellence Cocoa Bars: 70%, 85%, and 90%

Looking for vegan chocolate? Look no further than the Lindt Excellence Cocoa Bars in 70%, 85%, and 90% cacao. While it is harder to find vegan milk chocolate, it can still be hard to find a vegan dark chocolate, but Lindt’s got you covered!

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Stacy's Pita Chips

Another favorite to pair with hummus or another vegan dip, Stacy’s Pita Chips in the Italian Harvest, Multigrain, Simply Naked, and Veggie Medley varieties are all vegan!

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Sara Lee's Frozen Pies

Pie crusts usually call for butter, but Sara Lee’s Frozen Pies do not use any animal products in their Dutch Apple, Lattice Peach, and Razzleberry flavors. If those aren’t your favorite flavors of pie, check out the ingredients lists of the others to see if they match with your dietary restrictions.

(Image via Walmart)
ADVERTISEMENT

Thomas's New York Style Bagels

Many baked goods contain some form of milk or eggs, but not Thomas's New York Style Bagels! This brand has a lot of vegan options including some of their bagel thins and mini bagels. Just check the label for the specific flavor you want!

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Smucker's Uncrustables

Raising a vegan kid or need a quick blast from the past? How about Smucker’s Uncrustables! Yes, they’re vegan!

(Image via Walmart)
ADVERTISEMENT

Krispy Kreme Fruit Pies

While Krispy Kreme’s donuts are not vegan, the store-bought apple and cherry pies are! If you go into a Krispy Kreme location, though, you might have a hard time finding something you can eat.

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Betty Crocker’s Bac-O’s Bacon Flavor Bits

What? Yeah. We know. We were shocked too. We don’t know what these guys have in them, but it’s all vegan! That’s good, we guess.

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutter Butter

Another sandwich cookie favorite on our list, Nutter Butter cookies are also vegan. Where there are Oreo snack packs, there are usually Nutter Butter snack packs, and you can eat either without missing a beat!

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Keebler Original Club Crackers

You can keep snacking on these buttery Club Crackers, because they are also vegan! You don’t even have to miss out on dipping them in your favorite vegan salad dressing at those restaurants that bring them with the salad you ordered. Good times.

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Hershey's Syrup

Vegan ice cream sundae, anyone? Well pass the Hershey's Syrup to drizzle on top of your favorite dairy free ice cream, add some crushed peanuts and a cherry on top, and you’ve got yourself a delicious vegan ice cream sundae!
(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT

Taco Bell's Cinnamon Twists

Craving something sweet to go with your Bean Burrito at Taco Bell? Go for the Cinnamon Twists! They’re crunchy, sweet, and completely vegan!

Bloomberg/Bloomberg/Getty Images
ADVERTISEMENT

Duncan Hines Cake Mix

Birthday parties are no longer a problem as long as you’re in charge of making the cake. The cake mix doesn’t have any animal products in it, and the only add-in you need is sparkling water (or any other kind of fizzy drink if you are feeling adventurous). Don’t add in an egg or milk substitute, or even the oil. Just the fizz!

(Image via Walmart)
ADVERTISEMENT

Duncan Hines Creamy Home-Style Frosting

To top off that cake, you can use the Duncan Hines Creamy Home-Style Frosting. It’s vegan too! And as always, remember to double check the ingredients list before you buy.

(Image via Amazon)
ADVERTISEMENT